Member Schools Conference
You are here: Home    
Welcome to Section 10 - Northern Athletic Conference

Welcome to Section 10 - Northern Athletic Conference
The Interscholastic Athletics service (Section 10) coordinates the entire Public
Junior/Senior high school athletic contest that takes place in St. Lawrence/Lewis and
Franklin County. The scheduling responsibilities involve (18) St. Lawrence/Lewis and
(6) Franklin County schools districts, thousands of boys and girls and approximately
500 sport officials. Responsibilities also include the coordination of training,
assigning of game officials for every regular season and payment of officials for
post season playoffs contests; maintenance of centralized scheduling and section
records; interpretation and supervision of rules and regulations of the New York State
Education Department and the New York State Public High School Athletic Association. We
provide provisions for Coaching Certification, CPR/First Aid training for coaches; and
assist in the issuance of temporary coaching licenses and Sport official
certification. The Interscholastic Athletic service “Section 10” assists subscribing
school districts in many of the administrative duties related to their sport activity

Section 10 is a division of the New York State Public High School Athletic
Association.The association serves as a central organization through which its member
high schools in the state may cooperate to:
Encourage as many pupils as possible to participate in athletic games
Promote sportsmanlike conduct in all athletic contests
Maintain essential minimum standards of eligibility
Provide means to settle disputed athletic contests amicably and authoritatively
Conduct appropriate athletic meets and tournaments
Cooperate with the State Education Department in fostering educationally sound
athletic programs.
Adapt rules governing sports contest to the particular condition governing high
school competition.
Continually seek data to support rule changes leading to greater safety for
high school athletes.

Geographically, Section 10 consists of the St. Lawrence River Valley, parts of the
Thousand Islands region, and the Adirondacks. The section stretches for 3,500 square
miles and is vastly rural. Of the 24 schools that compete in the section; 13 are
classified as D, 5 are classified C, 4 are classified B and 2 are classified as A
schools according to the school enrollment figures that are submitted to NYSPHSAA
Member Schools

The Official Section X Webpage

NYSPHSAA Regional/State Championships

Section 10 Affiliate Member Schools

Login Here